Sun Ra’s Solar Archestra Live in London!

2 June 2014 — Cafe OTO

I don’t often do this, advertise a gig but Sun Ra’s Solar Archestra has to have an exception made for it. I went to one gig at Cafe Oto a couple of years back and although Sun Ra relocated to the celestial sphere some while ago, the Archestra, under the direction of Marshall Allen, who as been with the Archestra since the very beginning, is, as they say, kickin’ arse! So, if you live in or around London this month, why not check it out.

Marshall Allen at Cafe OTO - Photo by Fabio Lugaro

We’re excited to announce a very special double residency from one the greatest big bands of all time – The Sun Ra Arkestra – in June! 

This year marks the centenary of Sun Ra’s birth and these four nights promise to be a very special celebration of one of the greats. Operating under the direction of saxophonist Marshall Allen – who himself is celebrating his 90th year, the Arkestra have made Cafe OTO their home in London and this will be their sixth residency here.

With such a massive, joyous songbook and the kind of well organised chaos that sees their legendary 3 hour sets move deftly between rolling grooves, sing-along chants and atonal blasts of mischievous brass the Arkestra never disappoint.

Full dates and ticket links below.
Hope to see you here.

Cafe OTO.


Monday 16 June 2014, 8pm – Tickets: £20 adv / £25 door
Tuesday 17 June 2014, 8pm – Tickets: £20 adv / £25 door

Wednesday 25 June 2014, 8pm – Tickets: £20 adv / £25 door
Tuesday 26 June 2014, 8pm – Tickets: £20 adv / £25 door

Two Day Pass – 16+17 June: £40 adv
Two Day Pass – 25+26 June: £40 adv
Four Day Pass: £70 adv


All images by Fabio Lugaro.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.